Nick Vaske, LCSW, CADC I

Nick Vaske, LCSW, CADC I (he/him)

Licensed Clinical Social Worker


Hello! My waitlist is currently quite long. If you feel like we could be a good fit please reach out, I'm happy to give you a timeframe.

Client Status




Video Telehealth

Portland/Statewide, 97232

Video Telehealth

Medford/Statewide, Oregon 97504

At a Glance


Provides free initial consultation

Provides telehealth services

Practicing Since: 2015

Languages: English


  • Individual
  • Teen

Insurances Accepted

  • Out of Pocket
  • Out of Network
  • Aetna
  • PacificSource
  • Regence Blue Cross/Blue Shield

My Ideal Client

I find I am most helpful working with individual transition-age youth and adults seeking help with bipolar and mood disorders, identity exploration, setting boundaries and navigating relationships, learning coping skills, making sense of traumatic experiences, and unpacking privilege and learning to be a better ally. I am comfortable and knowledgeable about topics relating to sex and sexuality, gender affirmation, sex positivity, poly/non-monogamy, and intersections of identity.

My Approach to Helping

I am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. I have been practicing therapy since 2015 and have been in social services for over 15 years, serving youth and adults experiencing legal consequences, houselessness, and severe mental illness in both inpatient and outpatient settings. My style tends to be curious, nonjudgmental and empathic, and I take a relational and collaborative approach. You are going to be putting in hard work and it is my job to be a good guide by offering insights, direction, and skill building. I am trained primarily in narrative therapy, cognitive behavioral therapy, and solution focused therapy. I use an anti-oppressive, person centered, and trauma-informed framework. I strive to be culturally sensitive, anti-racist and queer/LGBTQIA+ affirming. I also know that I am not perfect, and I will ask for your honest feedback throughout the therapy process so that I can adjust and adapt my approach to best fit your needs.

My Personal Beliefs and Interests

I am a queer [white cis male] person and have friends and family members with a lovely mix of intersecting identities. I started struggling with my identity, mental illness and legal run ins as a teenager, which led into a career path as a peer advocate, mentor, and mental health provider. I've done a lot of work on myself that I find valuable to my practice. While I believe my personal experience gives me knowledge, insight, and empathy, I also know that everyone has their own unique experiences; I am open to sharing parts of my story with you when it is helpful, whether that is to offer validation, challenge stigma, or to just get to know each other better. A bit more about me: I am a dog dad, artist, and gaymer. My recharging activities include chilling at the dog park, traveling and backpacking with friends, sketching, reading comic books and cooking.

Techniques I Use


  • Narrative  External link

    My graduate training is primarily in narrative therapy, and my approach is to engage in self-exploration by taking an outside, curious perspective of ourselves and our stories, gain greater insight into the events that have shaped us, enrich our stories by recognizing our resilience, and use that knowledge and perspective to better define what we would like our futures to be.

  • Cognitive Behavioral (CBT) External link

    I have many years of experience working in residential, day treatment, and outpatient programs that use CBT individual and group counseling approaches to help both youth and adults understand their thought processes and learn specific skills that help them to more effectively accomplish their goals.

  • Relational  External link

    We do not live in isolation, and our relationships to others and to our communities and culture influence us in many ways. Relational therapy aims to understand how the relationships in our lives and cultural/systemic forces shape who we are, and how we are doing in turn influences our relationships. The therapeutic relationship between you and I also offers a direct experiential opportunity for us to explore and work on relationship dynamics.

Issues I Treat


  • LGBTQ Issues External link

    I am a queer-identified person and member of the LGBTQIA+ community. I have worked with adults and youth in both inpatient and outpatient settings around their sexual orientations and gender identities to build knowledge, understanding, self-compassion, and appreciation for how wonderful they are, find community, and better cope with a society that is often oppressive.

  • Bipolar External link

    I have spent the last three years working specifically with adults with severe mental illness including bipolar disorders in varying stages of recovery. I also have lived experience with bipolar disorder that I can draw from when it is helpful to relate, while also recognizing that everyone's experience is unique.

  • Child or Adolescent Issues External link

    Most of my career has been working with youth in foster care, mentoring, and in residential placements for youth who have been adjudicated and are on probation or parole. I am goofy, a gamer, relatable and patient.

  • Coronavirus/COVID-19 External link

    We are all in this one together, and when facing this we are in partnership. I have a lot of experience prior to covid working with people who are isolated, people who face a great deal of stigma, and people with multiple health complications and risk factors. I'm happy to talk about covid whether it is dealing with isolation and quarantine, or supporting you if you've been directly impacted.

  • Sexual Abuse External link

    I have several years of experience working with survivors of DV/SA as an advocate and therapist. I have multiple years of experience working with youth who have perpetrated sexual abuse as a mentor and therapist.

Contact Nick

Optional note (300 character limit). Please do not include sensitive medical information.